国际学习中心

艺术、传媒和建筑

关于此专业方向

艺术、传媒和建筑专业的本科预科课程将为您攻读传媒、设计新闻和时装设计等领域的本科学位做好准备。

您将学习核心课程(一般技能科目)和选修课程(如适合您所选择的研究领域的传媒活动),所有这些都对您的学术发展很重要。

为什么要学习艺术、传媒和建筑?

  • 为您打造创造性的作品集以攻读本科学位
  • 结合国际学习中心的 CareerAhead 活动,开始为您未来的实习做准备
  • 选择以职业为中心、毕业生就业率高的专业学位
  • 攻读一个包含尖端实践的学位,确保您在毕业时掌握所选行业的最新知识
  • 受益于现代化校园的顶级设施,比如耗资 3,000 万英镑新建的芭芭拉·赫普沃斯大楼——大学里集艺术、设计和建筑一体的中心。

以下学科方向提供衔接课程:

  • 艺术、传媒和建筑

在此专业方向中,您将选择您感兴趣并支撑所选学位的课程。请注意,对于国际学习中心的课程,您需保持 100% 的出勤率,否则将面临失去学生签证的风险。

具体课程

您将通过一系列核心课程和特定学科课程来培养您的学术和学习技能,包括:

核心数学

在本课程中,您将专注于学习数值技巧、代数、微积分、统计学和概率论中的基本主题和方法,以加强您的背景知识并提高您处理和呈现数据的技能。

绘画或媒体宣传或人文科学

在本课程中,每周都会向学生介绍一系列练习,以介绍各种不同的材料,培养学生对绘画技巧及信心。学生将鉴赏和评估艺术家和设计师的作品。本课程将着重培养学生记录所见事物的能力。本课程将通过提交作品集进行评估。作品集包括大约十件作品,应以专业方式展示和装裱。大学的艺术、设计和建筑学院招生时也会考察本课程中的作品。

在本课程中,学生将研究、规划关于选定主题的宣传视频,获取相关材料并进行编辑和展示。学生可通过查看现有视频、照片、艺术项目和新闻文章来激发创意、寻找灵感以及自己熟悉的主题。并借助思维导图、故事脚本和视频软件完成最终项目。

本课程将为学生提供从不同角度探索人和文化的机会。课程不仅涵盖了人文学科的基本知识,还将关注诸如人与历史、身份、英国特性、艺术、文化和语言等更为专业的问题。

学术英语技能

本课程将培养学生的意识和能力,发展一系列学术语言相关技能,在高等教育阶段的学业上取得成功。其中包括学术写作的流程和惯例、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。学生将有机会清晰自如地掌握书面和口头语言的准确性和范围,反思自己的学习,并确定如何提升自己的技能和语言水平。

艺术与设计史

在本课程中,学生将学习艺术和设计的历史,进一步了解历史背景下的重要运动。学生将使用多种研究技能收集、记录、分析和评估信息。学生将调查影响设计的因素包含社会、经济、政治、技术和哲学等。

视觉与感知研究课程

本课程重在通过探索激发学生的创造力并提升其视觉感知能力。学生将有机会学习有关视觉传达的一些媒介、流程和视觉语言。本课程鼓励学生发展个人优势和兴趣,并通过一系列媒介和流程介绍发展的概念。这些技能将帮助您为在大学继续深造和未来的职业生涯做好准备。

研讨会

学术英语技能 (Academic English Skills)

本课程将培养学生的意识和能力,发展一系列学术语言相关技能,在高等教育阶段的学业上取得成功。其中包括学术写作的流程和惯例、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。学生将有机会清晰自如地掌握书面和口头语言的准确性和范围,反思自己的学习,并确定如何提升自己的技能和语言水平。

个人学习和批判性思维能力 (PLTS)

本课程旨在强调获得和提高六种可付诸实践的技能,这些技能可以使学生有效应对变化和学习,帮助他们在各种不同的工作和生活环境中有所作为。此外,这些也是用人单位或更高学位的导师希望学生拥有的技能。世界各地的用人单位不仅仅要求员工拥有学位,他们还希望员工具备额外的制胜技能。

重要信息

学术水平:良好的高中毕业成绩或同等水平
英语语言要求:UKVI 学术类雅思成绩 4.5 分(写作成绩不低于 4.0 分)或同等水平*
入学年龄:17 岁以上(年龄计算节点为您希望在国际学习中心开始学习的学年的 9 月或 10 月)。开始攻读本科学位之前必须年满 18 岁

请访问我们的入学要求页面,了解特定国家/地区入学要求的完整列表。

*如果您不需要学生签证,或者以其他方式免签,则需提供同等的英语水平证明。

如需了解有关课程费用的更多信息,请访问我们的费用页面

University of Huddersfield International Study Centre

Art, Media & Architecture

About this route

The International Foundation Year in Art, Media & Architecture will prepare you for an undergraduate degree in a range of fields such as media, design journalism and fashion design.

You will study core modules, which are general skills subjects, and optional modules such as media campaigns tailored to your chosen area of study, all of which are important for your academic development.

Why study Art, Media & Architecture?

  • Build your portfolio of creative work ready for your undergraduate degree
  • Start preparing for your future work placement with the International Study Centre’s CareerAhead activities
  • Choose from career-focused, professional degrees with a high graduate employment rate
  • Progress to a degree which incorporates cutting edge practices, ensuring you graduate with an up-to-date knowledge on your chosen industry
  • Benefit from top facilities on a modern campus, such as the new £30 million Barbara Hepworth building – the home of all things art, design and architecture at the University.

This programme pathway is available in the following subject pathway:

  • Art, Media & Architecture

Within this pathway, you will choose modules which both interest you and support your chosen progression degree.

Modules

You will develop your academic and study skills through a range of core and subject-specific modules, including:

Core Maths

In this module you will focus on basic topics and methods in Numerical Techniques, Algebra, Calculus, Statistics and Probability with a view to strengthening your background knowledge and improving your skills in handling and presenting data.

Drawing OR Media Campaigns OR Introduction to Humanities

In this module students will be introduced to a series of exercises each week in order to introduce a range of different materials and develop confidence in drawing techniques. Students will consider and evaluate the work of artists and designers. Emphasis will be placed on developing the ability to record what is seen. Assessment in this module is via the submission of a portfolio. The portfolio will include around ten pieces of work which should be professionally presented and mounted. Work produced on this module will also be considered by the university as part of admission to the School of Art, Design and Architecture.

As part of this module, students will research, plan, source material, edit and present a promotional video on a chosen theme. Students will generate ideas, find inspiration and familiarise themselves with their theme by looking at existing videos, photographs, art projects, and news articles. Mind maps, storyboards and video software will be used to complete the final project.

This module will give students the opportunity to explore people and culture from different perspectives. It covers the basic from what are the humanities to more specialised issues such as people and histories, identity, Britishness, arts, culture and language.

Academic English Skills

This module will give students the opportunity to develop awareness and competency in the range of academic language-related skills required for successful study at Higher Education level. These include the processes and conventions of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. Students will be provided with an opportunity to develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language with clarity and confidence, as well as to reflect on their learning and identify how to improve their skills and language.

Art and Design History

In this module, students will study the history of art and design. Students will develop a knowledge of key movements within an historical context. Research skills will be used to collect, record, analyse and evaluate information. Social, economic, political, technological and philosophical factors which have affected design will be examined.

Visual and Perceptual Studies Project

The emphasis of this module is on the development of creativity and visual perception through exploration. Students will have the opportunity to experiment with some of the media, processes and visual language associated with visual communication. The module encourages the development of personal strengths and interests and introduces concept development through a range of media and processes. These skills will prepare you for your further study at the university and in your future career.

Workshop

Academic English Skills

This module will give students the opportunity to develop awareness and competency in the range of academic language-related skills required for successful study at Higher Education level. These include the processes and conventions of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. Students will be provided with an opportunity to develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language with clarity and confidence, as well as to reflect on their learning and identify how to improve their skills and language.

Personal Learning and Critical Thinking Skills (PLTS)

The aim of the module is to emphasise the importance of acquiring and improving six transferable skills that enable students to cope with change and to learn effectively; skills that will help them to be effective in many different work and life situations. Furthermore, these are skills that employers and those in further education want to see developed. Employers worldwide are demanding more than just a degree – they want employees with additional winning skills.

Academic: Good high school graduation grades or equivalent
English language: Academic IELTS for UKVI 4.5 (minimum of 4.0 in writing), or equivalent*
Age on entry: 17+ (in the September or October of the academic year you wish to start at the International Study Centre). Must turn 18 before the start of your undergraduate degree

Visit our entry requirements page for a complete list of country-specific requirements.

*If you do not need a Student visa, or are exempted in another way, we can accept equivalent proof of English.

Course length: 2 semesters 
Entry points: November and January. 

Term dates:

November 2021
Semester 1: 15/11/2021 - 06/05/2022
Semester 2: 09/05/2022 - 05/08/2022
Find out more about our new November intake here

January 2022
Semester 1: 24/01/2022 - 06/05/2022
Semester 2: 09/05/2022 - 05/08/2022

IELTS March June Aug Sept Nov Jan Feb May June Aug Sept
4.0 (4.0 in all skills)   12-week ELP IFY semester 1 IFY semester 2 Holiday Start your undergraduate degree
4.5 (4.0 in writing)
  IFY semester 1 IFY semester 2
3.5 (3.5 in all skills)   24-week ELP IFY semester 1 IFY semester 2
4.0 (4.0 in all skills)   12-week ELP

To learn more about course costs visit our fees page.

Progress to Huddersfield

This programme can lead to one of the undergraduate degrees listed below (subject to meeting the grades outlined). These degrees are subject to change.

Degree Programmes Award Overall Grade English Grade Additional Grade
Animation Production BA (Hons) 40% 50% -
Architectural Technology BA (Hons) 40% 50% -
Architecture/Architecture (International) (RIBA Part 1) BA (Hons) 40% 50% -
Broadcast Journalism BA (Hons) 40% 50% -
Computer Games Design BA (Hons) 40% 50% -
Contemporary Art BA (Hons) 40% 50% -
Contemporary Art and Illustration BA (Hons) 40% 50% -
Costume with Textiles BA (Hons) 40% 50% -
Creative Media and Production BA (Hons) 40% 50% -
Fashion Brand Marketing BA (Hons) 40% 50% -
Find out more about starting your studies or check the latest COVID-19 information.