国际学习中心

商务、管理和法律

关于此专业方向

商务、管理和法律本科预科课程将为您攻读会计、金融、法律、市场营销和物流等领域的本科学位做好准备。

您将学习核心课程(一般技能科目)和适合您所选择的研究领域的选修课程,所有这些都对您的学术发展很重要。

为什么要学习商务、管理和法律?

  • 在开始攻读本科学位之前,与当地企业、用人单位和大学院系建立联系
  • 选择以职业为中心、毕业生就业率高的专业学位
  • 通过我们的综合 CareerAhead 活动,您可以在课堂之外获得更多的就业技能
  • 受益于独特的衔接课程机会,了解业界所重视的技能和知识
  • 哈德斯菲尔德大学具备专业资格的工作人员比例在英格兰排名第一(HESA,2021 年),其中永久聘任教职员工均为高等教育研究院的研究员。

学科方向

根据您的升读目标选择您的学科方向,让您选择您感兴趣并在未来的职业生涯中能帮助您的课程。您可以选择专注于:

  • 商务、法律和社会研究
  • 社会与行为科学

具体课程

您还将通过一系列核心课程和特定科目的课程培养您的技能,这些课程经过精心挑选,以确保您获得成功升入大学所需的一切。请注意,对于国际学习中心的课程,您需保持 100% 的出勤率,否则将面临失去学生签证的风险。

商务、法律和社会研究方向

核心数学

在本课程中,学生将专注于学习数值技巧、代数、微积分、统计学和概率论中的基本主题和方法,以加强其背景知识并提高其处理和呈现数据的技能。修读本课程的大多数学生将决定攻读商业或艺术相关学位,他们在课程中所发展的技能将使他们具备收集和分析数据、解释和呈现研究成果所需的能力。

媒体宣传或商务调研

在本课程中,学生将研究、规划关于选定主题的宣传视频,获取相关材料并进行编辑和展示。学生可通过查看现有视频、照片、艺术项目和新闻文章来激发创意、寻找灵感以及自己熟悉的主题。并借助思维导图、故事脚本和视频软件完成最终项目。

商务调研课程让学生有机会提高自己的研究和分析技能,以及在本科阶段十分有用的演示技能。在本课程中,学生将研究两种不同的商业并进行报告,了解支撑商务运营的理论,并比较两家英国公司将这些付诸实践的方式。学生的评估作业将让学生有机会展示其对业务结构和运营的真正兴趣,学生需借助哈德斯菲尔德大学提供的资源,展示实际的研究和评估技能。

学术英语技能 (AES)

“学术英语技能”课程旨在提供语言和相关学术技能的全面培训,以便国际学生在大学最大限度地发挥其学术潜力。我们的学术英语课程由英国政府机构 ENIC(英国国家信息中心)认证,该机构负责提供有关全球资格和技能的信息和专家意见。

本课程将帮助您培养意识和能力,发展一系列语言相关的学术技能,包括学术写作、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。您还将在学术环境下,明确、自信地学习有效且适当使用语言所需要具备的准确、适度范围的书面和口头语言。

除了课程学习,您还将获得在线学习平台的支持,该平台可为您提供一系列任务和活动,专门用于在课堂之外开发和拓展您的语言和学术技能,让您更好地掌控自己的学习。

竞争性商业环境

在本课程中,学生将了解经济学的一些关键知识,探索英国经济的不同领域。学生将学习如何对公司和行业进行研究,分析周围的商业环境如何直接影响英国公司的运营。学生还将获得大学后续学习所需的重要学术技能,如研究、对文献材料的学术参考,以及撰写正式报告的方法。学生将需要准备一份关于特定行业的案例调查研究,并证明自己可以有效地应用商业分析工具来支持自己的研究。

法律及金融环境

法律及金融环境课程将向学生介绍英国商业环境的两个主要方面。学生将了解英国的法律环境,并思考相关政府立法如何限制商业活动。学生还将有机会展示其分析技能、解释简要财务信息,并对企业业绩作出判断,为在本科阶段进一步学习商科打下坚实基础。

学术英语技能

“学术英语技能”课程旨在提供语言和相关学术技能的全面培训,以便国际学生在大学最大限度地发挥其学术潜力。我们的学术英语课程由英国政府机构 ENIC(英国国家信息中心)认证,该机构负责提供有关全球资格和技能的信息和专家意见。

本课程将帮助您培养意识和能力,发展一系列语言相关的学术技能,包括学术写作、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。您还将在学术环境下,明确、自信地学习有效且适当使用语言所需要具备的准确、适度范围的书面和口头语言。

除了课程学习,您还将获得在线学习平台的支持,该平台可为您提供一系列任务和活动,专门用于在课堂之外开发和拓展您的语言和学术技能,让您更好地掌控自己的学习。

个人学习和批判性思维能力 (PLTS)

本课程旨在强调获得和提高六种可付诸实践的技能,这些技能可以使学生有效应对变化和学习,帮助他们在各种不同的工作和生活环境中有所作为。此外,这些也是用人单位或更高学位的导师希望学生拥有的技能。世界各地的用人单位不仅仅要求员工拥有学位,他们还希望员工具备额外的制胜技能。

社会科学实践

本课程将向学生介绍心理学和社会科学相关知识。重点关注心理学的两个关键领域——社会心理学和个体差异。以及社会学的两个重要概念——文化和身份。这两门社会科学都是通过探索这些领域的经典案例来进行研究的。都使用研究方法对规范中涵盖的主题进行实际调查。

学生们将有机会了解周围的世界以及周围人的思想和行为。他们能够习得诸多实用技能,包括描述和批判性地评估一系列研究、计划和开展其调查,以及解释和批判性地评估其研究成果。

当代教育问题概论

本课程将向学生介绍教育研究,并剖析铸就现代教育体制的历史和政治因素。课程将要求学生考察英国和其他国家/地区教育体制,并制作海报和课堂展示,评估学生的理解程度。

社会和行为科学方向

核心数学

在本课程中,学生将专注于学习数值技巧、代数、微积分、统计学和概率论中的基本主题和方法,以加强其背景知识并提高其处理和呈现数据的技能。

修读本课程的大多数学生将决定攻读商业或艺术相关学位,他们在课程中所发展的技能将使他们具备收集和分析数据、解释和呈现研究成果所需的能力。

传媒活动

在本课程中,学生将研究、规划关于选定主题的宣传视频,获取相关材料并进行编辑和展示。学生可通过查看现有视频、照片、艺术项目和新闻文章来激发创意、寻找灵感以及自己熟悉的主题。并借助思维导图、故事脚本和视频软件完成最终项目。

学术英语技能

“学术英语技能”课程旨在提供语言和相关学术技能的全面培训,以便国际学生在大学最大限度地发挥其学术潜力。我们的学术英语课程由英国政府机构 ENIC(英国国家信息中心)认证,该机构负责提供有关全球资格和技能的信息和专家意见。

本课程将帮助您培养意识和能力,发展一系列语言相关的学术技能,包括学术写作、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。您还将在学术环境下,明确、自信地学习有效且适当使用语言所需要具备的准确、适度范围的书面和口头语言。

除了课程学习,您还将获得在线学习平台的支持,该平台可为您提供一系列任务和活动,专门用于在课堂之外开发和拓展您的语言和学术技能,让您更好地掌控自己的学习。

竞争性商业环境

在本课程中,学生将了解经济学的一些关键知识,探索英国经济的不同领域。学生将学习如何对公司和行业进行研究,分析周围的商业环境如何直接影响英国公司的运营。学生还将获得大学后续学习所需的重要学术技能,如研究、对文献材料的学术参考,以及撰写正式报告的方法。学生将需要准备一份关于特定行业的案例调查研究,并证明自己可以有效地应用商业分析工具来支持自己的研究。

社会科学实践

本课程将向学生介绍心理学和社会科学相关知识。重点关注心理学的两个关键领域——社会心理学和个体差异。以及社会学的两个重要概念——文化和身份。这两门社会科学都是通过探索这些领域的经典案例来进行研究的。都使用研究方法对规范中涵盖的主题进行实际调查。

学生们将有机会了解周围的世界以及周围人的思想和行为。他们能够习得诸多实用技能,包括描述和批判性地评估一系列研究、计划和开展其调查,以及解释和批判性地评估其研究成果。

学术英语技能

“学术英语技能”课程旨在提供语言和相关学术技能的全面培训,以便国际学生在大学最大限度地发挥其学术潜力。我们的学术英语课程由英国政府机构 ENIC(英国国家信息中心)认证,该机构负责提供有关全球资格和技能的信息和专家意见。

本课程将帮助您培养意识和能力,发展一系列语言相关的学术技能,包括学术写作、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。您还将在学术环境下,明确、自信地学习有效且适当使用语言所需要具备的准确、适度范围的书面和口头语言。

除了课程学习,您还将获得在线学习平台的支持,该平台可为您提供一系列任务和活动,专门用于在课堂之外开发和拓展您的语言和学术技能,让您更好地掌控自己的学习。

个人学习和批判性思维能力 (PLTS)

本课程旨在强调获得和提高六种可付诸实践的技能,这些技能可以使学生有效应对变化和学习,帮助他们在各种不同的工作和生活环境中有所作为。此外,这些也是用人单位或更高学位的导师希望学生拥有的技能。世界各地的用人单位不仅仅要求员工拥有学位,他们还希望员工具备额外的制胜技能。

法律及金融环境

法律及金融环境课程将向学生介绍英国商业环境的两个主要方面。学生将了解英国的法律环境,并思考相关政府立法如何限制商业活动。学生还将有机会展示其分析技能、解释简要财务信息,并对企业业绩作出判断,为在本科阶段进一步学习商科打下坚实基础。

商务调查

商务调研课程让学生有机会提高自己的研究和分析技能,以及在本科阶段十分有用的演示技能。在本课程中,学生将研究两种不同的商业并进行报告,了解支撑商务运营的理论,并比较两家英国公司将这些付诸实践的方式。

学生的评估作业将让学生有机会展示其对业务结构和运营的真正兴趣,学生需借助哈德斯菲尔德大学提供的资源,展示实际的研究和评估技能。

当代教育问题概论

本课程将向学生介绍教育研究,并剖析铸就现代教育体制的历史和政治因素。课程将要求学生考察英国和其他国家/地区教育体制,并制作海报和课堂展示,评估学生的理解程度。

重要信息

学术水平:良好的高中毕业成绩或同等水平
英语语言要求:UKVI 学术类雅思成绩 4.5 分(写作成绩不低于 4.0 分)或同等水平*
入学年龄:17 岁以上(年龄计算节点为您希望在国际学习中心开始学习的学年的 9 月或 10 月)。开始攻读本科学位之前必须年满 18 岁

请访问我们的入学要求页面,了解特定国家/地区入学要求的完整列表。

*如果您不需要学生签证,或者以其他方式免签,则需提供同等的英语水平证明。

如需了解有关课程费用的更多信息,请访问我们的费用页面

课程日期

课程时长:2 学期
入学时间:10 月、11 月和 1 月。

November 2022
27/11/2022 - 4/5/2023
7/5/2023 - 3/8/2023
January 2023
8/1/2023 - 27/4/2023
30/4/2023 - 3/8/2023
October 2023
1/10/2023 - 8/2/2024
18/2/2024 - 27/6/2024
January 2024
7/1/2024 - 25/4/2024
28/4/2024 - 1/8/2024

升读哈德斯菲尔德

完成本课程后,您可以获得下列其中一个本科学位(须取得规定的分数)。这些学位有可能发生变动。

International Study Centre

Business, Management and Law

About this route

The International Foundation Year in Business, Management & Law will prepare you for an undergraduate degree in fields such as accounting, finance, law, marketing and logistics.

You will study core modules, which are general skills subjects, and optional modules tailored to your chosen area of study, all of which are important for your academic development.

Why study Business, Management & Law?

  • Engage with local businesses, employers and University departments to make connections before starting your undergraduate degree
  • Choose from career-focused, professional degrees with a high graduate employment rate
  • Gain even more employability skills outside of your classes with our integrated CareerAhead activities
  • Benefit from unique pathway opportunities designed to give you the skills and knowledge valued by industry
  • The University of Huddersfield is joint 1st in England for professionally qualified staff (HESA, 2021), where 100% of permanent teaching staff are Fellows of the Higher Education Academy.

Subject pathways 

Choose your subject pathway based on your progression aims, allowing you to pick the modules which both interest you and will help you in your future career. Choose to focus on either:

  • Business, Law & Social Studies
  • Social & Behavioural Sciences

Modules

You will also develop your skills through a range of core and subject- specific modules, carefully selected to ensure you progress to the University with all you need to succeed. Please note that you are expected to attend 100% of your classes at the International Study Centre or you are at risk of losing your Student visa.

Business, Law and Social Studies pathway

Core Maths

In this module students will focus on basic topics and methods in Numerical Techniques, Algebra, Calculus, Statistics and Probability with a view to strengthening their background knowledge and improving their skills in handling and presenting data. Most of the students taking this module will have decided to study a Business or Arts related degree and the skills they will develop during the course will equip them with the skills needed to enable them to gather and analyse data, interpret and present findings.

Media Campaigns OR Investigating Business

As part of this module, students will research, plan, source material, edit and present a promotional video on a chosen theme. Students will generate ideas, find inspiration and familiarise themselves with their theme by looking at existing videos, photographs, art projects, and news articles. Mind maps, storyboards and video software will be used to complete the final project.

The Investigating Business module gives students a chance to develop their research and analysis skills, along with presentation skills that will be useful to them as undergraduates. In this module students will research and report on two different businesses, understanding the theory underpinning business operations, and comparing the way in which two UK companies have put these into practice. Students’ assessed work will provide an opportunity to demonstrate a real interest in the structure and operations of businesses, and will require them to demonstrate practical research and assessment skills, using resources available through the University of Huddersfield.

Academic English Skills (AES)

Academic English Skills aims to provide thorough training in the language and related academic skills which will enable international students to best achieve their academic potential at university. Our Academic English programme is validated by UK ENIC, the UK government agency responsible for providing information and expert opinion on qualifications and skills worldwide.

You will develop awareness and competency in a range of language-related academic skills, including the processes of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. You will also develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language required to use language effectively and appropriately, with clarity and confidence in an academic context.

Alongside your classes, your studies will be supported by an online learning platform, providing you with a range of tasks and activities specifically designed to develop and extend your language and academic skills outside the classroom and to give you more control over your own learning.

Competitive Business Environment

In this module students will be introduced to some key aspects of economics, and explore different sectors of the UK economy. Students will learn how to carry out research into a company and industry, analysing how the surrounding business environment directly influences the operation of companies in the UK. Students will also acquire key academic skills essential for subsequent study in the University, such as research, academic referencing of source materials, and how to structure a formal report. Students will prepare a written case study which investigates a specific industry and demonstrate they can effectively apply business analysis tools in support of their work.

Legal and Financial Environment

The Legal and Financial Environment module provides students with an introduction to two key aspects of the UK business environment. Students will gain an understanding of the legal environment in the UK, and will consider how business activities are constrained by relevant government legislation. Students will also have the opportunity to demonstrate their analytical skills, interpreting summary financial information and making judgements about business performance, providing a firm foundation for further study of business at undergraduate level.

Academic English Skills

Academic English Skills aims to provide thorough training in the language and related academic skills which will enable international students to best achieve their academic potential at university. Our Academic English programme is validated by UK ENIC, the UK government agency responsible for providing information and expert opinion on qualifications and skills worldwide.

You will develop awareness and competency in a range of language-related academic skills, including the processes of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. You will also develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language required to use language effectively and appropriately, with clarity and confidence in an academic context.

Alongside your classes, your studies will be supported by an online learning platform, providing you with a range of tasks and activities specifically designed to develop and extend your language and academic skills outside the classroom and to give you more control over your own learning.

Personal Learning and Critical Thinking Skills (PLTS)

The aim of the module is to emphasise the importance of acquiring and improving six transferable skills that enable students to cope with change and to learn effectively; skills that will help them to be effective in many different work and life situations. Furthermore, these are skills that employers and those in further education want to see developed. Employers worldwide are demanding more than just a degree – they want employees with additional winning skills.

Social Sciences in Action

Social sciences in action introduces students to psychology and sociology. The emphasis is on two key areas in psychology- social psychology and individual differences. In sociology the focus is on two important concepts – culture and identity. Both social sciences are investigated through examining classic research in these areas. Research methods used in both fields are used to carry out a practical investigation into a theme covered in the specification.

Students will be provided with an opportunity to gain an understanding of the world around them and the minds and behaviour of the people in it. They can acquire a broad set of desirable skills including the ability to describe and critically evaluate a range of research, to plan and carry out their own investigation and to interpret and critically assess their findings.

Introduction to Issues in Contemporary Education

This module introduces the student to the study of education and will consider the historical and political dimensions which have shaped the modern educational system. Understanding will be assessed through a poster and a presentation examining the education systems in England and one other country.

Social and Behavioural Science pathway

Core Maths

In this module students will focus on basic topics and methods in Numerical Techniques, Algebra, Calculus, Statistics and Probability with a view to strengthening their background knowledge and improving their skills in handling and presenting data.

Most of the students taking this module will have decided to study a Business or Arts related degree and the skills they will develop during the course will equip them with the skills needed to enable them to gather and analyse data, interpret and present findings.

Media Campaigns

As part of this module, students will research, plan, source material, edit and present a promotional video on a chosen theme. Students will generate ideas, find inspiration and familiarise themselves with their theme by looking at existing videos, photographs, art projects, and news articles. Mind maps, storyboards and video software will be used to complete the final project.

Academic English Skills

Academic English Skills aims to provide thorough training in the language and related academic skills which will enable international students to best achieve their academic potential at university. Our Academic English programme is validated by UK ENIC, the UK government agency responsible for providing information and expert opinion on qualifications and skills worldwide.

You will develop awareness and competency in a range of language-related academic skills, including the processes of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. You will also develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language required to use language effectively and appropriately, with clarity and confidence in an academic context.

Alongside your classes, your studies will be supported by an online learning platform, providing you with a range of tasks and activities specifically designed to develop and extend your language and academic skills outside the classroom and to give you more control over your own learning.

Competitive Business Environment

In this module students will be introduced to some key aspects of economics, and explore different sectors of the UK economy. Students will learn how to carry out research into a company and industry, analysing how the surrounding business environment directly influences the operation of companies in the UK. Students will also acquire key academic skills essential for subsequent study in the University, such as research, academic referencing of source materials, and how to structure a formal report. Students will prepare a written case study which investigates a specific industry and demonstrate they can effectively apply business analysis tools in support of their work.

Social Sciences in Action

Social sciences in action introduces students to psychology and sociology. The emphasis is on two key areas in psychology- social psychology and individual differences. In sociology the focus is on two important concepts – culture and identity. Both social sciences are investigated through examining classic research in these areas. Research methods used in both fields are used to carry out a practical investigation into a theme covered in the specification.

Students will be provided with an opportunity to gain an understanding of the world around them and the minds and behaviour of the people in it. They can acquire a broad set of desirable skills including the ability to describe and critically evaluate a range of research, to plan and carry out their own investigation and to interpret and critically assess their findings.

Academic English Skills

Academic English Skills aims to provide thorough training in the language and related academic skills which will enable international students to best achieve their academic potential at university. Our Academic English programme is validated by UK ENIC, the UK government agency responsible for providing information and expert opinion on qualifications and skills worldwide.

You will develop awareness and competency in a range of language-related academic skills, including the processes of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. You will also develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language required to use language effectively and appropriately, with clarity and confidence in an academic context.

Alongside your classes, your studies will be supported by an online learning platform, providing you with a range of tasks and activities specifically designed to develop and extend your language and academic skills outside the classroom and to give you more control over your own learning.

Personal Learning and Critical Thinking Skills (PLTS)

The aim of the module is to emphasise the importance of acquiring and improving six transferable skills that enable students to cope with change and to learn effectively; skills that will help them to be effective in many different work and life situations. Furthermore, these are skills that employers and those in further education want to see developed. Employers worldwide are demanding more than just a degree – they want employees with additional winning skills.

Legal and Financial Environment

The Legal and Financial Environment module provides students with an introduction to two key aspects of the UK business environment. Students will gain an understanding of the legal environment in the UK, and will consider how business activities are constrained by relevant government legislation. Students will also have the opportunity to demonstrate their analytical skills, interpreting summary financial information and making judgements about business performance, providing a firm foundation for further study of business at undergraduate level.

Investigating Business

The Investigating Business module gives students a chance to develop their research and analysis skills, along with presentation skills that will be useful to them as undergraduates. In this module students will research and report on two different businesses, understanding the theory underpinning business operations, and comparing the way in which two UK companies have put these into practice.

Students’ assessed work will provide an opportunity to demonstrate a real interest in the structure and operations of businesses, and will require them to demonstrate practical research and assessment skills, using resources available through the University of Huddersfield.

Introduction to Issues in Contemporary Education

This module introduces the student to the study of education and will consider the historical and political dimensions which have shaped the modern educational system. Understanding will be assessed through a poster and a presentation examining the education systems in England and one other country.

Key facts

Academic: Good high school graduation grades or equivalent
English language: Academic IELTS for UKVI 4.5 (minimum of 4.0 in writing), or equivalent*
Age on entry: 17+ (in the September or October of the academic year you wish to start at the International Study Centre). Must turn 18 before the start of your undergraduate degree

Visit our entry requirements page for a complete list of country-specific requirements.

*If you do not need a Student visa, or are exempted in another way, we can accept equivalent proof of English.

To learn more about course costs visit our fees page.

New November start

If you want to be better prepared for the start of your January programme of study, join us in November.

Course dates

Course length: 2 semesters 
Entry points: October, November and January.

October 2022
2/10/2022 - 9/2/2023
19/2/2023 - 29/6/2023
November 2022
27/11/2022 - 4/5/2023
7/5/2023 - 3/8/2023
January 2023
8/1/2023 - 27/4/2023
30/4/2023 - 3/8/2023
October 2023
1/10/2023 - 8/2/2024
18/2/2024 - 27/6/2024

Why join this November?

Join us in November and stay on track to progress to your degree in September 2023.

By starting in November, you will benefit from three additional weeks of study and life skills before commencing your main pathway programme in January 2023. There will be no additional tuition fee for this period, and this will provide you with a great opportunity for an enhanced student experience focusing on three key areas: orientation; practical support and academic and digital skills. Topics will include a digital skills health check; managing your money; practical tips on finding study and life balance; and an introduction to assessments in UK higher education.

What will I study in the additional three weeks?  

You’ll benefit from a 15-hour per week face-to-face classes, allowing you to:

  • feel more confident and better prepared for the start of your January programme of study
  • practice your English by interacting with the fellow students and build friendships
  • assess your own digital skills proficiency
  • meet the key Centre staff who will provide advice for success
  • familiarise yourselves with the support available
  • apply a range of academic study skills to meet your individual needs
  • have more time to adapt to the UK life and settle in before you begin your January programme.

Are there any additional cost or fees?

There will be no additional tuition fee, as November starts will have the same tuition fee as the respective January programme. However, there will be additional costs to consider, as expected with being in the UK for a longer period (i.e. accommodation). If you request accommodation on your application form, our Central Student Support Team will contact you directly in October regarding the options available.

Progress to Huddersfield

This programme can lead to one of the undergraduate degrees listed below (subject to meeting the grades outlined). These degrees are subject to change.

Degree Programme NameAwardOverall GradeEnglish Grade
No Results

English Language Preparation

A one or two semester course for undergraduates, or eight or twelve weeks for postgraduate students, to improve your English language level.

Prepare for Success

5 weeks before your selected course you will be automatically enrolled in our Prepare for Success online programme in order to help you get everything you need.