国际学习中心

工程学、计算机和科学

关于此途径

工程学、计算机科学的本科预科课程将为您攻读哈德斯菲尔德大学 50 多个学位中的一个做好准备,包括计算机科学、大多数工程学科、法医学、音乐技术和制药科学。

您将学习核心课程(一般技能科目)和适合您所选择的研究领域的专业课程,所有这些都对您的学术发展很重要。

为什么要学习工程学、计算机和理科科目?

  • 我们灵活的入学要求意味着,即使您没有相关专业的背景,您也可以利用这一途径来攻读工程学学位
  • 这条途径为在哈德斯菲尔德获得绝大多数学位打下了坚实的基础
  • 受益于我们的 CareerAhead 活动,您能提高所需技能,成为一名高就业率的毕业生
  • 为您未来的行业实习做好准备,包括支持 NHS 的临床实践面试
  • 在现代化的校园里使用一系列优良设施,如精密技术中心。

学科方向

根据您选择的升读学位和职业目标,您将专注于特定的学科方向。这将允许您学习与升读学位更密切相关的特定学科课程。您可以选择:

  • 计算机
  • 工程学
  • 科学

具体课程

除了学科方向中的相关课程外,您还将通过一系列精心挑选的核心课程继续发展您的技能。请注意,对于国际学习中心的课程,您需保持 100% 的出勤率,否则将面临失去学生签证的风险。

工程学方向

纯数学

在本课程中,学生将学习对升读工程学位非常重要的课题。学生们需要花一点时间确保自己已充分掌握代数和三角学,然后学习微积分课程。最后,他们将学习统计学和概率论。

应用数学 1

在本课程中,学生将关注一些基本课题,如:向量、速度和加速度、力和牛顿定律、摩擦力、功、能量与功率、抛体运动、力矩和重心。由于修读本课程的学生已决定攻读工程、科学或计算机科学学位,本课程将会以情境化的方式授课,并在课程中提供应用实例,以帮助他们为所选学位的具体要求做好准备。

学术英语技能 (Academic English Skills)

本课程将培养学生的意识和能力,发展一系列学术语言相关技能,在高等教育阶段的学业上取得成功。其中包括学术写作的流程和惯例、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。学生将有机会清晰自如地掌握书面和口头语言的准确性和范围,反思自己的学习,并确定如何提升自己的技能和语言水平。

物理学

本课程将鼓励学生培养对物理的兴趣和热情,为学生进一步学习该学科提供支持。学生将了解社会如何对科学问题做出决策,以及科学如何为经济和社会的成功做出贡献。他们还将培养并展示出物理学更深层次的技能、知识和理解,并培养对该学科不同领域及其相互关系的基本知识和理解。由于修读本课程的学生已决定攻读工程学、科学或计算机科学学位,本课程将会以情境化的方式授课,并在课程中提供应用实例,帮助他们为所选学位的具体要求做好准备。

应用数学 2

在本课程中,学生将专注于学习适用于工程数学学位一年级的课题和方法。修读本课程的大多数学生将决定攻读电气、机械、计算机(科学)或计算机系统工程学位,本课程中提供的示例将帮助他们为此类课程的具体要求做好准备。课程课题包括:圆周运动、向心力、旋转运动学、扭矩、旋转动力学、简谐运动、引力场和电场以及杨氏模量。

学术英语技能 (Academic English Skills)

本课程将培养学生的意识和能力,发展一系列学术语言相关技能,在高等教育阶段的学业上取得成功。其中包括学术写作的流程和惯例、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。学生将有机会清晰自如地掌握书面和口头语言的准确性和范围,反思自己的学习,并确定如何提升自己的技能和语言水平。

个人学习和批判性思维能力 (PLTS)

本课程旨在强调获得和提高六种可付诸实践的技能,这些技能可以使学生有效应对变化和学习,帮助他们在各种不同的工作和生活环境中有所作为。此外,这些也是用人单位或更高学位的导师希望学生拥有的技能。世界各地的用人单位不仅仅要求员工拥有学位,他们还希望员工具备额外的制胜技能。

计算机方向

纯数学

在本课程中,学生将学习对升读工程学位非常重要的课题。学生们需要花一点时间确保自己已充分掌握代数和三角学,然后学习微积分课程。最后,他们将学习统计学和概率论。

应用数学 1

在本课程中,学生将关注一些基本课题,如:向量、速度和加速度、力和牛顿定律、摩擦力、功、能量与功率、抛体运动、力矩和重心。由于修读本课程的学生已决定攻读工程学、科学或计算机科学学位,本课程将会以情境化的方式授课,并在课程中提供应用实例,帮助他们为所选学位的具体要求做好准备。

学术英语技能

本课程将提高学生对学术语言相关技能的意识和能力,帮助学生在高等教育阶段的学业取得成功。其中包括学术写作的流程和惯例、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。学生将有机会清晰自如地掌握书面和口头语言的准确性和范围,反思自己的学习,并确定如何提升自己的技能和语言水平。

物理学

本课程将鼓励学生培养对物理的兴趣和热情,为学生进一步学习该学科提供支持。学生将了解社会如何对科学问题做出决策,以及科学如何为经济和社会的成功做出贡献。他们还将培养并展示出物理学更深层次的技能、知识和理解,并培养对该学科不同领域及其相互关系的基本知识和理解。由于修读本课程的学生已决定攻读工程学、科学或计算机科学学位,本课程将会以情境化的方式授课,并在课程中提供应用实例,帮助他们为所选学位的具体要求做好准备。

计算机

本课程旨在为学生提供网站开发和设计方面的入门知识。作为互联网用户,我们通常会出于各种原因(教育、商业或娱乐)访问网站以获取信息。作为用户,我们是否曾想过网站是如何搭建的,以及搭建网站需要哪些技能? 本课程旨在为学生提供学习网站开发和设计基础知识的机会。具体来说,学生将学习三种用于创建网站的语言:用于构建网站结构的超文本标记语言 (HTML);用于设计网站样式的层叠样式表 (CSS);以及用于添加网站交互性的 JavaScript。

学术英语技能

本课程将提高学生对学术语言相关技能的意识和能力,帮助学生在高等教育阶段的学业取得成功。其中包括学术写作的流程和惯例、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。学生将有机会清晰自如地掌握书面和口头语言的准确性和范围,反思自己的学习,并确定如何提升自己的技能和语言水平。

个人学习和批判性思维能力 (PLTS)

本课程旨在强调获得和提高六种可付诸实践的技能,这些技能可以使学生有效应对变化和学习,帮助他们在各种不同的工作和生活环境中有所作为。此外,这些也是用人单位或更高学位的导师希望学生拥有的技能。世界各地的用人单位不仅仅要求员工拥有学位,他们还希望员工具备额外的制胜技能。

科学方向

纯数学

在本课程中,学生将学习对升读工程学位非常重要的课题。学生们需要花一点时间确保自己已充分掌握代数和三角学,然后学习微积分课程。最后,他们将学习统计学和概率论。

生物学

生物学课程向学生介绍基本的生物学概念。每节课均以主要概念、术语为基础,并为学生提供练习考试题型的机会。开设了许多实验室实践课程,帮助学生掌握实践技能。学生将学习的课题包括:原核细胞和真核细胞、免疫系统、DNA、生物分子和呼吸。

学术英语技能

本课程将培养学生的意识和能力,发展一系列学术语言相关技能,在高等教育阶段的学业上取得成功。其中包括学术写作的流程和惯例、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。学生将有机会清晰自如地掌握书面和口头语言的准确性和范围,反思自己的学习,并确定如何提升自己的技能和语言水平。

物理学

本课程将鼓励学生培养对物理的兴趣和热情,为学生进一步学习该学科提供支持。学生将了解社会如何对科学问题做出决策,以及科学如何为经济和社会的成功做出贡献。他们还将培养并展示出物理学更深层次的技能、知识和理解,并培养对该学科不同领域及其相互关系的基本知识和理解。由于修读本课程的学生已决定攻读工程学、科学或计算机科学学位,本课程将会以情境化的方式授课,并在课程中提供应用实例,帮助他们为所选学位的具体要求做好准备。

化学

化学课程旨在帮助学生加强化学基础概念方面的知识和技能,为其将来升读憧憬的大学学位打下基础。在本课程中,学生将熟悉专业词汇、化学原理、相关信息的组织和交流、合乎道德、安全和娴熟的实践技术,以及选择适当的定性和定量方法的重要性。
完成本课程后,学生应能熟练地记录和交流可靠和有效的观察结果,并具有适当的精确度和准确性,能够计划和开展化学背景下的调研工作,以及解释和分析数据。

学术英语技能 (Academic English Skills)

本课程将培养学生的意识和能力,发展一系列学术语言相关技能,在高等教育阶段的学业上取得成功。其中包括学术写作的流程和惯例、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。学生将有机会清晰自如地掌握书面和口头语言的准确性和范围,反思自己的学习,并确定如何提升自己的技能和语言水平。

个人学习和批判性思维能力 (PLTS)

本课程旨在强调获得和提高六种可付诸实践的技能,这些技能可以使学生有效应对变化和学习,帮助他们在各种不同的工作和生活环境中有所作为。此外,这些也是用人单位或更高学位的导师希望学生拥有的技能。世界各地的用人单位不仅仅要求员工拥有学位,他们还希望员工具备额外的制胜技能。

重要信息

学术水平:良好的高中毕业成绩或同等水平^
英语语言要求:UKVI 学术类雅思成绩 4.5 分(写作成绩不低于 4.0 分)或同等水平*
入学年龄:17 岁以上(年龄计算节点为您希望在国际学习中心开始学习的学年的 9 月或 10 月)。开始攻读本科学位之前必须年满 18 岁

请访问我们的入学要求页面,了解特定国家/地区入学要求的完整列表。

*如果您不需要学生签证,或者以其他方式免签,则需提供同等的英语水平证明。

^为确保学生为 IFY 卫生科学课程和 IFY 工程科学课程做好充分准备,申请人应提前学习过一门理科科目。申请人最好学习过生物学,但如果学过物理和/或化学也可以。

如需了解有关课程费用的更多信息,请访问我们的费用页面

课程日期

课程时长:2 学期
入学时间:10 月、11 月和 1 月。

October 2022
2/10/2022 - 9/2/2023
19/2/2023 - 29/6/2023
November 2022
27/11/2022 - 4/5/2023
7/5/2023 - 3/8/2023
January 2023
8/1/2023 - 4/5/2023
7/5/2023 - 3/8/2023
October 2023
1/10/2023 - 8/2/2024
18/2/2024 - 27/6/2024

升读哈德斯菲尔德

完成本课程后,您可以获得下列其中一个本科学位(须取得规定的分数)。这些学位有可能发生变动。

Degree Programme NameAwardOverall GradeEnglish Grade
No Results

International Study Centre

Student working on project in class

Engineering, Computing & Science

About this route

The International Foundation Year in Engineering, Computing & Science will prepare you to study one of more than fifty degrees at the University of Huddersfield, in fields such as computer science, most engineering disciplines, forensic science, music technology and pharmaceutical science.

You will study core modules, which are general skills subjects, and specialised modules tailored to your chosen area of study, all of which are important for your academic development.

Why study Engineering, Computing & Science?

  • Our flexible entry requirements mean that you can use this route to prepare for an engineering degree – even if you have no background in the subject
  • This route offers a strong foundation to succeed in a vast majority of degrees at Huddersfield
  • Benefit from our CareerAhead activities to develop the skills you need to become a highly-employable graduate
  • Prepare for your future industry work placements, including support with the NHS interview for clinical practice
  • Access a range of excellent facilities on a modern campus, such as the Centre for Precision Technologies.

Subject pathways

Depending on your chosen progression degree and career aims, you will focus on a specific subject pathway. This will allow you to study subject-specific modules more closely related to your progression degree. You can choose between:

  • Computing
  • Engineering
  • Science

Key facts

Academic: Good high school graduation grades or equivalent^
English language: Academic IELTS for UKVI 4.5 (minimum of 4.0 in writing), or equivalent*
Age on entry: 17+ (in the September or October of the academic year you wish to start at the International Study Centre). Must turn 18 before the start of your undergraduate degree

Visit our entry requirements page for a complete list of country-specific requirements.

*If you do not need a Student visa, or are exempted in another way, we can accept equivalent proof of English.

To learn more about course costs visit our fees page.

Modules

Alongside the modules in your subject pathway, you will continue to develop your skills through a range of carefully selected core modules. Please note that you are expected to attend 100% of your classes at the International Study Centre or you are at risk of losing your Student visa.

Engineering pathway

Pure Maths

In this module students will study topics that will be important for progressing onto an engineering degree course. They will spend a little time making sure their algebra and trigonometry skills are sound before moving on to calculus topics. They will conclude with statistics and probability.

Applied Maths 1

In this module students will focus on basic topics such as: vectors, velocity and acceleration, force and Newton’s Laws, friction, Work, energy and power, projectiles, moments and centre of gravity. As students taking this module have decided to study Engineering, Science or Computer Science degree the subject will be taught in a contextualized way with applied examples given during the module to help and prepare them for the specific demands of their chosen degree.

Academic English Skills

Academic English Skills aims to provide thorough training in the language and related academic skills which will enable international students to best achieve their academic potential at university. Our Academic English programme is validated by UK ENIC, the UK government agency responsible for providing information and expert opinion on qualifications and skills worldwide.

You will develop awareness and competency in a range of language-related academic skills, including the processes of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. You will also develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language required to use language effectively and appropriately, with clarity and confidence in an academic context.

Alongside your classes, your studies will be supported by an online learning platform, providing you with a range of tasks and activities specifically designed to develop and extend your language and academic skills outside the classroom and to give you more control over your own learning.

Physics

This module will encourage students to develop the interest in and enthusiasm for Physics and support further study of the subject. Students will appreciate how society makes decisions about scientific issues and how the sciences contribute to the success of the economy and society. They will also develop and demonstrate a deeper appreciation of the skills, knowledge and understanding of Physics and develop essential knowledge and understanding of different areas of the subject and how they relate to each other. As students taking this module have decided to study an Engineering, Science or Computer Science degree the subject will be taught in a contextualised way with applied examples given during the module to help and prepare them for the specific demands of their chosen degree.

Applied Maths 2

In this module, students will focus on topics and methods applicable to first year degree Engineering Mathematics. Most of the students taking this module will have decided to study an Electrical, Mechanical, Computing (Science) or Computer Systems Engineering degree and the examples they will be given during the module will help prepare them for the specific demands of this type of programme. Module topics consist of the following: circular motion, centripetal force, rotational kinematics, torque, rotational dynamics, simple harmonic motion, gravitational and electric fields and Young’s Modulus.

Academic English Skills

Academic English Skills aims to provide thorough training in the language and related academic skills which will enable international students to best achieve their academic potential at university. Our Academic English programme is validated by UK ENIC, the UK government agency responsible for providing information and expert opinion on qualifications and skills worldwide.

You will develop awareness and competency in a range of language-related academic skills, including the processes of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. You will also develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language required to use language effectively and appropriately, with clarity and confidence in an academic context.

Alongside your classes, your studies will be supported by an online learning platform, providing you with a range of tasks and activities specifically designed to develop and extend your language and academic skills outside the classroom and to give you more control over your own learning.

Personal Learning and Critical Thinking Skills (PLTS)

The aim of the module is to emphasise the importance of acquiring and improving six transferable skills that enable students to cope with change and to learn effectively; skills that will help them to be effective in many different work and life situations. Furthermore, these are skills that employers and those in further education want to see developed. Employers worldwide are demanding more than just a degree – they want employees with additional winning skills.

Computing pathway

Pure Maths

In this module students will study topics that will be important for progressing onto an engineering degree course. They will spend a little time making sure their algebra and trigonometry skills are sound before moving on to calculus topics. They will conclude with statistics and probability.

Applied Maths 1

In this module students will focus on basic topics such as: vectors, velocity and acceleration, force and Newton’s Laws, friction, Work, energy and power, projectiles, moments and centre of gravity. As students taking this module have decided to study Engineering, Science or Computer Science degree the subject will be taught in a contextualized way with applied examples given during the module to help and prepare them for the specific demands of their chosen degree.

Academic English Skills

Academic English Skills aims to provide thorough training in the language and related academic skills which will enable international students to best achieve their academic potential at university. Our Academic English programme is validated by UK ENIC, the UK government agency responsible for providing information and expert opinion on qualifications and skills worldwide.

You will develop awareness and competency in a range of language-related academic skills, including the processes of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. You will also develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language required to use language effectively and appropriately, with clarity and confidence in an academic context.

Alongside your classes, your studies will be supported by an online learning platform, providing you with a range of tasks and activities specifically designed to develop and extend your language and academic skills outside the classroom and to give you more control over your own learning.

Physics

This module will encourage students to develop the interest in and enthusiasm for Physics and support further study of the subject. Students will appreciate how society makes decisions about scientific issues and how the sciences contribute to the success of the economy and society. They will also develop and demonstrate a deeper appreciation of the skills, knowledge and understanding of Physics and develop essential knowledge and understanding of different areas of the subject and how they relate to each other. As students taking this module have decided to study an Engineering, Science or Computer Science degree the subject will be taught in a contextualised way with applied examples given during the module to help and prepare them for the specific demands of their chosen degree.

Computing

This module is designed to provide a start to students in web development and design. As internet users, we typically access websites to seek information for a variety of reasons: education, business or entertainment. Have we as users ever wondered how websites are built and what are the skills needed to build them? This module is designed to provide students the opportunity to learn the fundamentals of web development and web design. Specifically, students will learn 3 languages that are used to create websites: Hypertext Markup Language (HTML) for building website structure; Cascading Style Sheet (CSS) for styling websites; and JavaScript for adding website interactivity.

Academic English Skills

Academic English Skills aims to provide thorough training in the language and related academic skills which will enable international students to best achieve their academic potential at university. Our Academic English programme is validated by UK ENIC, the UK government agency responsible for providing information and expert opinion on qualifications and skills worldwide.

You will develop awareness and competency in a range of language-related academic skills, including the processes of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. You will also develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language required to use language effectively and appropriately, with clarity and confidence in an academic context.

Alongside your classes, your studies will be supported by an online learning platform, providing you with a range of tasks and activities specifically designed to develop and extend your language and academic skills outside the classroom and to give you more control over your own learning.

Personal Learning and Critical Thinking Skills (PLTS)

The aim of the module is to emphasise the importance of acquiring and improving six transferable skills that enable students to cope with change and to learn effectively; skills that will help them to be effective in many different work and life situations. Furthermore, these are skills that employers and those in further education want to see developed. Employers worldwide are demanding more than just a degree – they want employees with additional winning skills.

Science pathway

Pure Maths

In this module students will study topics that will be important for progressing onto an engineering degree course. They will spend a little time making sure their algebra and trigonometry skills are sound before moving on to calculus topics. They will conclude with statistics and probability.

Biology

The Biology module supports students with the fundamental biological concepts. Each lesson builds upon key concepts, vocabulary and provides students with the opportunity to practice exam style questions. To support students with their practical skills there are a number of practical lessons in a laboratory setting. Topics that students will study include; prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells, the immune system, DNA, biological molecules, and respiration.

Academic English Skills

Academic English Skills aims to provide thorough training in the language and related academic skills which will enable international students to best achieve their academic potential at university. Our Academic English programme is validated by UK ENIC, the UK government agency responsible for providing information and expert opinion on qualifications and skills worldwide.

You will develop awareness and competency in a range of language-related academic skills, including the processes of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. You will also develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language required to use language effectively and appropriately, with clarity and confidence in an academic context.

Alongside your classes, your studies will be supported by an online learning platform, providing you with a range of tasks and activities specifically designed to develop and extend your language and academic skills outside the classroom and to give you more control over your own learning.

Physics

This module will encourage students to develop the interest in and enthusiasm for Physics and support further study of the subject. Students will appreciate how society makes decisions about scientific issues and how the sciences contribute to the success of the economy and society. They will also develop and demonstrate a deeper appreciation of the skills, knowledge and understanding of Physics and develop essential knowledge and understanding of different areas of the subject and how they relate to each other. As students taking this module have decided to study an Engineering, Science or Computer Science degree the subject will be taught in a contextualised way with applied examples given during the module to help and prepare them for the specific demands of their chosen degree.

Chemistry

The Chemistry module is designed to help students to strengthen their knowledge and skills of the foundational concepts in Chemistry, on which to build on when they progress into their dream university degrees. In this module, students will become acquainted with specialised vocabulary, chemical principles, organisation and communication of relevant information, ethical, safe, and skilful practical techniques, and the importance of selecting appropriate qualitative and quantitative methods.
On completion of the modules, students should become skilful in recording and communication of reliable and valid observations with appropriate precision and accuracy, plan and conduct investigative work in a Chemistry context, as well as interpret and analyze data.

Academic English Skills

Academic English Skills aims to provide thorough training in the language and related academic skills which will enable international students to best achieve their academic potential at university. Our Academic English programme is validated by UK ENIC, the UK government agency responsible for providing information and expert opinion on qualifications and skills worldwide.

You will develop awareness and competency in a range of language-related academic skills, including the processes of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. You will also develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language required to use language effectively and appropriately, with clarity and confidence in an academic context.

Alongside your classes, your studies will be supported by an online learning platform, providing you with a range of tasks and activities specifically designed to develop and extend your language and academic skills outside the classroom and to give you more control over your own learning.

Personal Learning and Critical Thinking Skills (PLTS)

The aim of the module is to emphasise the importance of acquiring and improving six transferable skills that enable students to cope with change and to learn effectively; skills that will help them to be effective in many different work and life situations. Furthermore, these are skills that employers and those in further education want to see developed. Employers worldwide are demanding more than just a degree – they want employees with additional winning skills.

Course dates

Course length: 2 semesters 
Entry points: October, November, January and April*

*For progression to Nursing (Adult) BSc(Hons) only

Engineering, Computing & Science

September 2024

StartFinish
Semester 129/9/20246/2/2025
Semester 216/2/202531/7/2025

November 2024

StartFinish
Semester 124/11/202424/4/2025
Semester 227/4/202521/8/2025

January 2025

StartFinish
Semester 112/1/202524/4/2025
Semester 227/4/202521/8/2025

Progress to Huddersfield

This programme can lead to one of the undergraduate degrees listed below (subject to meeting the grades outlined). These degrees are subject to change.

Degree Programme NameAwardOverall GradeEnglish Grade
No Results
Students having a drink in a restaurant

How to apply

Ready to apply? Discover how to submit an application and learn more about fees, term dates and entry requirements.

Students outside University of Huddersfield ISC

University of Huddersfield International Study Centre

Begin your UK education journey at the University of Huddersfield International Study Centre. Improve your English, academic knowledge and grow the confidence you need to succeed in your degree.

Students studying together at a MacBook

English Language Preparation

Our online English Language preparation courses will help you develop your English language skills to the level required to begin your chosen pathway programme.

Join us today

Our student enrolment advisors are available to answer your questions and help you with your application. We can't wait to meet you.