国际学习中心

对着镜头微笑的学生

健康与人文科学

想在哈德斯菲尔德大学攻读护理学?

2024 年的新举措:学生可以在 4 月加入本科预科课程,并在 2025 年 1 月升读成人护理理学学士学位(荣誉)(前提是达到所需的升读成绩)。

请注意:

  • 4 月开学的名额可能有限,因此我们建议学生尽快申请并确认。
  • 4 月课程的开始日期仅适用于那些以成人护理理学学士学位(荣誉)为升读学位目标的学生。

为什么要学习健康与人文科学?

  • 大学毕业即可获得专业认证的学位,而不需要通过多年学习来获得医学学位
  • 学位课程通常包括实习,例如在当地医院和 NHS 信托进行的临床实践,以获得真实环境中的实践经验
  • 使用一系列专业设施,包括生物力学实验室、配方实验室(用于制造和测试药物)、生理实验室和物理治疗实验室
  • 为您的未来职业做好早期准备,支持您的 NHS 临床实践面试和综合 CareerAhead 活动
  • 在您开始攻读学位之前,与大学院系、当地企业和用人单位接触,并从中受益。

学科方向

您可以通过选择学科方向,来选择学习与自己的大学升读学位联系更紧密的课程。您可以选择专攻:

  • 健康科学
  • 社会与行为科学
  • 理学院

重要信息

学术成绩:高中毕业成绩良好或同等水平^
英语成绩:UKVI 学术类雅思成绩 4.5 分(写作不低于 4.0 分),或同等水平*
入学年龄:年满 17 岁(年龄计算节点为您希望在国际学习中心开始学习的学年的 9 月或 10 月)。开始攻读本科学位之前必须年满 18 岁

请访问我们的入学要求页面,了解特定国家/地区入学要求的完整列表。

*如果您不需要学生签证,或者以其他方式免签,则需提供同等的英语水平证明。

如需了解有关课程费用的更多信息,请访问我们的费用页面

课程

您还将学习一系列核心课程和特定科目的课程,以确保您获得成功攻读学位所需的一切。请注意,在国际学习中心学习课程期间,您需保持 100% 的出勤率,否则将面临失去学生签证的风险。

社会与行为科学

健康科学方向

纯数学

在本课程中,学生将学习对升读工程学位非常重要的课题。学生们需要花一点时间确保自己已充分掌握代数和三角学,然后学习微积分课程。最后,他们将学习统计学和概率论。

生物学

生物学课程向学生介绍基本的生物学概念。每节课均以主要概念、术语为基础,并为学生提供练习考试题型的机会。开设了许多实验室实践课程,帮助学生掌握实践技能。学生将学习的课题包括:原核细胞和真核细胞、免疫系统、DNA、生物分子和呼吸系统。

学术英语技能

“学术英语技能”课程旨在提供语言和相关学术技能的全面培训,以便国际学生在大学最大限度地发挥其学术潜力。我们的学术英语课程由英国政府机构 ENIC(英国国家信息中心)认证,该机构负责提供有关全球资格和技能的信息和专家意见。

本课程将帮助您培养意识和能力,发展一系列语言相关的学术技能,包括学术写作、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。您还将在学术环境下,明确、自信地学习有效且适当使用语言所需要具备的准确、适度范围的书面和口头语言。

除了课程学习,您还将获得在线学习平台的支持,该平台可为您提供一系列任务和活动,专门用于在课堂之外开发和拓展您的语言和学术技能,让您更好地掌控自己的学习。

人体生物学

人体生物学课程旨在向学生介绍生理性自体调节的基本概念。学生可以了解维持人类生命的复杂生理系统。投入时间观察器官的大体结构、组织和细胞,以及与器官相关的病理状况。本课程还将介绍阿尔茨海默病、中风、囊性纤维化、多发性硬化等常见病。

社会科学实践

本课程将向学生介绍心理学和社会科学相关知识。重点关注心理学的两个关键领域——社会心理学和个体差异。以及社会学的两个重要概念——文化和身份。这两门社会科学都是通过探索这些领域的经典案例来进行研究的。都使用研究方法对规范中涵盖的主题进行实际调查。
学生们将有机会了解周围的世界以及周围人的思想和行为。他们能够习得诸多实用技能,包括描述和批判性地评估一系列研究、计划和开展其调查,以及解释和批判性地评估其研究成果。

学术英语技能

“学术英语技能”课程旨在提供语言和相关学术技能的全面培训,以便国际学生在大学最大限度地发挥其学术潜力。我们的学术英语课程由英国政府机构 ENIC(英国国家信息中心)认证,该机构负责提供有关全球资格和技能的信息和专家意见。

本课程将帮助您培养意识和能力,发展一系列语言相关的学术技能,包括学术写作、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。您还将在学术环境下,明确、自信地学习有效且适当使用语言所需要具备的准确、适度范围的书面和口头语言。

除了课程学习,您还将获得在线学习平台的支持,该平台可为您提供一系列任务和活动,专门用于在课堂之外开发和拓展您的语言和学术技能,让您更好地掌控自己的学习。

个人学习和批判性思维能力 (PLTS)

本课程旨在强调获得和提高六种可付诸实践的技能,这些技能可以使学生有效应对变化和学习,帮助他们在各种不同的工作和生活环境中有所作为。此外,这些也是用人单位或更高学位的导师希望学生拥有的技能。世界各地的用人单位不仅仅要求员工拥有学位,他们还希望员工具备额外的制胜技能。

核心数学

在本课程中,学生将专注于学习数值技巧、代数、微积分、统计学和概率论中的基本主题和方法,以加强其背景知识并提高其处理和呈现数据的技能。
修读本课程的大多数学生将决定攻读商业或艺术相关学位,他们在课程中所发展的技能将使他们具备收集和分析数据、解释和呈现研究成果所需的能力。

传媒活动

在本课程中,学生将研究、规划关于选定主题的宣传视频,获取相关材料并进行编辑和展示。学生可通过查看现有视频、照片、艺术项目和新闻文章来激发创意、寻找灵感以及自己熟悉的主题。并借助思维导图、故事脚本和视频软件完成最终项目。

学术英语技能

“学术英语技能”课程旨在提供语言和相关学术技能的全面培训,以便国际学生在大学最大限度地发挥其学术潜力。我们的学术英语课程由英国政府机构 ENIC(英国国家信息中心)认证,该机构负责提供有关全球资格和技能的信息和专家意见。

本课程将帮助您培养意识和能力,发展一系列语言相关的学术技能,包括学术写作、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。您还将在学术环境下,明确、自信地学习有效且适当使用语言所需要具备的准确、适度范围的书面和口头语言。

除了课程学习,您还将获得在线学习平台的支持,该平台可为您提供一系列任务和活动,专门用于在课堂之外开发和拓展您的语言和学术技能,让您更好地掌控自己的学习。

人文科学概论

本课程将为学生提供从不同角度探索人和文化的机会。课程不仅涵盖了人文学科的基本知识,还将关注诸如人与历史、身份、英国特性、艺术、文化和语言等更为专业的问题。

社会科学实践

本课程将向学生介绍心理学和社会科学相关知识。重点关注心理学的两个关键领域——社会心理学和个体差异。以及社会学的两个重要概念——文化和身份。这两门社会科学都是通过探索这些领域的经典案例来进行研究的。都使用研究方法对规范中涵盖的主题进行实际调查。
学生们将有机会了解周围的世界以及周围人的思想和行为。他们能够习得诸多实用技能,包括描述和批判性地评估一系列研究、计划和开展其调查,以及解释和批判性地评估其研究成果。

学术英语技能

“学术英语技能”课程旨在提供语言和相关学术技能的全面培训,以便国际学生在大学最大限度地发挥其学术潜力。我们的学术英语课程由英国政府机构 ENIC(英国国家信息中心)认证,该机构负责提供有关全球资格和技能的信息和专家意见。

本课程将帮助您培养意识和能力,发展一系列语言相关的学术技能,包括学术写作、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。您还将在学术环境下,明确、自信地学习有效且适当使用语言所需要具备的准确、适度范围的书面和口头语言。

除了课程学习,您还将获得在线学习平台的支持,该平台可为您提供一系列任务和活动,专门用于在课堂之外开发和拓展您的语言和学术技能,让您更好地掌控自己的学习。

个人学习和批判性思维能力 (PLTS)

本课程旨在强调获得和提高六种可付诸实践的技能,这些技能可以使学生有效应对变化和学习,帮助他们在各种不同的工作和生活环境中有所作为。此外,这些也是用人单位或更高学位的导师希望学生拥有的技能。世界各地的用人单位不仅仅要求员工拥有学位,他们还希望员工具备额外的制胜技能。

法律及金融环境

法律及金融环境课程将向学生介绍英国商业环境的两个主要方面。学生将了解英国的法律环境,并思考相关政府立法如何限制商业活动。学生还将有机会展示其分析技能、解释简要财务信息,并对企业业绩作出判断,为在本科阶段进一步学习商科打下坚实基础。

商务调查

商务调研课程让学生有机会提高自己的研究和分析技能,以及在本科阶段十分有用的演示技能。在本课程中,学生将研究两种不同的商业并进行报告,了解支撑商务运营的理论,并比较两家英国公司将这些付诸实践的方式。学生的评估作业将让学生有机会展示其对业务结构和运营的真正兴趣,学生需借助哈德斯菲尔德大学提供的资源,展示实际的研究和评估技能。

当代教育问题概论

本课程将向学生介绍教育研究,并剖析铸就现代教育体制的历史和政治因素。课程将要求学生考察英国和其他国家/地区教育体制,并制作海报和课堂展示,评估学生的理解程度。

科学方向

纯数学

在本课程中,学生将学习对升读工程学位非常重要的课题。学生们需要花一点时间确保自己已充分掌握代数和三角学,然后学习微积分课程。最后,他们将学习统计学和概率论。

生物学

生物学课程向学生介绍基本的生物学概念。每节课均以主要概念、术语为基础,并为学生提供练习考试题型的机会。开设了许多实验室实践课程,帮助学生掌握实践技能。学生将学习的课题包括:原核细胞和真核细胞、免疫系统、DNA、生物分子和呼吸系统。

学术英语技能

“学术英语技能”课程旨在提供语言和相关学术技能的全面培训,以便国际学生在大学最大限度地发挥其学术潜力。我们的学术英语课程由英国政府机构 ENIC(英国国家信息中心)认证,该机构负责提供有关全球资格和技能的信息和专家意见。

本课程将帮助您培养意识和能力,发展一系列语言相关的学术技能,包括学术写作、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。您还将在学术环境下,明确、自信地学习有效且适当使用语言所需要具备的准确、适度范围的书面和口头语言。

除了课程学习,您还将获得在线学习平台的支持,该平台可为您提供一系列任务和活动,专门用于在课堂之外开发和拓展您的语言和学术技能,让您更好地掌控自己的学习。

物理学

本课程将鼓励学生培养对物理的兴趣和热情,为学生进一步学习该学科提供支持。学生将了解社会如何对科学问题做出决策,以及科学如何为经济和社会的成功做出贡献。他们还将培养并展示出物理学更深层次的技能、知识和理解,并培养对该学科不同领域及其相互关系的基本知识和理解。由于修读本课程的学生已决定攻读工程学、科学或计算机科学学位,本课程将会以情境化的方式授课,并在课程中提供应用实例,帮助他们为所选学位的具体要求做好准备。

化学

化学课程旨在帮助学生加强化学基础概念方面的知识和技能,为其将来升读憧憬的大学学位打下基础。在本课程中,学生将熟悉专业词汇、化学原理、相关信息的组织和交流、合乎道德、安全和娴熟的实践技术,以及选择适当的定性和定量方法的重要性。
完成本课程后,学生应能熟练地记录和交流可靠和有效的观察结果,并具有适当的精确度和准确性,能够计划和开展化学背景下的调研工作,以及解释和分析数据。

学术英语技能

“学术英语技能”课程旨在提供语言和相关学术技能的全面培训,以便国际学生在大学最大限度地发挥其学术潜力。我们的学术英语课程由英国政府机构 ENIC(英国国家信息中心)认证,该机构负责提供有关全球资格和技能的信息和专家意见。

本课程将帮助您培养意识和能力,发展一系列语言相关的学术技能,包括学术写作、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。您还将在学术环境下,明确、自信地学习有效且适当使用语言所需要具备的准确、适度范围的书面和口头语言。

除了课程学习,您还将获得在线学习平台的支持,该平台可为您提供一系列任务和活动,专门用于在课堂之外开发和拓展您的语言和学术技能,让您更好地掌控自己的学习。

个人学习和批判性思维能力 (PLTS)

本课程旨在强调获得和提高六种可付诸实践的技能,这些技能可以使学生有效应对变化和学习,帮助他们在各种不同的工作和生活环境中有所作为。此外,这些也是用人单位或更高学位的导师希望学生拥有的技能。世界各地的用人单位不仅仅要求员工拥有学位,他们还希望员工具备额外的制胜技能。

课程日期

课程时长:两学期
入学时间:10 月、11 月、1 月和 4 月*

*仅限升读成人护理理学学士学位(荣誉)

请注意:4 月入学仅限那些想要升读成人护理理学学士学位(荣誉)的学生

September 2024

Semester 129/9/20246/2/2025
Semester 216/2/202531/7/2025

November 2024

Semester 124/11/202424/4/2025
Semester 227/4/202521/8/2025

January 2025

Semester 112/1/202524/4/2025
Semester 227/4/202521/8/2025

升读哈德斯菲尔德大学

完成本课程后,您可以获得下列其中一个本科学位(须取得规定的分数)。这些学位有可能发生变动。

健康相关专业、护理和药学学位的选择流程

下列升读学位在本科预科课程期间有一个选择流程。

健康与人文科学学院:

  • 护理(成人)
  • 助产学研究
  • 职业治疗
  • 手术室实践
  • 物理治疗
  • 足病学
  • 社会工作

应用科技学院:

  • 药学

所有这些专业都需满足监管机构的要求,这是申请和选择流程的一部分,请详细了解。

哈德斯菲尔德大学的一名国际学生

“我在国际学习中心的生活很棒。每个人都为我提供帮助和支持。我很喜欢这里的环境和师生,他们都非常友好。如果我在学业上有困难,可以获得所需支持。我可以去找老师,老师就会耐心帮助我。我很享受这里的学习生活。这段美妙的时光令人难忘。”

尼日利亚留学生 Kehinde
曾攻读健康与社会科学本科预科课程
现攻读成人护理学学士学位(荣誉)

学生们在餐厅举杯

如何申请

准备好申请了吗? 了解如何提交申请,并详细了解费用、学期日期和入学要求。

学生在哈德斯菲尔德大学国际学习中心外

哈德斯菲尔德大学国际学习中心

在哈德斯菲尔德大学国际学习中心开始您的英国教育之旅。提高您的英语水平,拓展您的学术知识,帮您树立信心,助您成功攻读学位。

一起使用 MacBook 学习的学生们

英语语言课程

在开课之前,参加我们的英语学习课程,提高您的英语水平。

即刻加入

我们的学生招生顾问非常乐意解答您的问题并帮助您完成申请。我们殷切期待您的加入。

University of Huddersfield International Study Centre

Health & Human Sciences

About this route

The International Foundation Year in Health & Human Sciences will prepare you for a range of degrees in fields related to health, such as physiotherapy, sports science, podiatry and pharmaceutical science. It can also prepare you for studying degrees in behavioural sciences, such as psychology, sociology and criminology.

You will study core modules, which are general skills subjects, and specialised modules tailored to your chosen area of study - all of which are important for your academic development.

Why study Health & Human Sciences?

  • Graduate from the University with a professionally accredited degree – without the years of study required for a degree in medicine
  • Degrees typically include placements, such as clinical practice in local hospitals and NHS trusts, to gain practical experience in a real-world setting
  • Access a range of specialist facilities, including a biomechanics laboratory, formulation lab (for making and testing medicines), physiology labs and physiotherapy practical rooms
  • Early preparation for your future career with support for your NHS interview for clinical practice and integrated CareerAhead activities
  • Benefit from engagement with University departments and local business and employers in advance of starting your degree.

Subject pathways

Choosing a subject pathway allows you to study a selection of modules more closely aligned to your chosen progression degree at the University. You can choose to focus on:

  • Health Sciences
  • Social & Behavioural Sciences
  • Science

Modules

You will also study a range of core and subject-specific modules to ensure you progress to your degree with all the skills you need to succeed.

Health Sciences pathway

Pure Maths

In this module students will study topics that will be important for progressing onto an engineering degree course. They will spend a little time making sure their algebra and trigonometry skills are sound before moving on to calculus topics. They will conclude with statistics and probability.

Biology

The Biology module supports students with the fundamental biological concepts. Each lesson builds upon key concepts, vocabulary and provides students with the opportunity to practice exam style questions. To support students with their practical skills there are a number of practical lessons in a laboratory setting. Topics that students will study include; prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells, the immune system, DNA, biological molecules, and respiration.

Academic English Skills

This module will give students the opportunity to develop awareness and competency in the range of academic language-related skills required for successful study at Higher Education level. These include the processes and conventions of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. Students will be provided with an opportunity to develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language with clarity and confidence, as well as to reflect on their learning and identify how to improve their skills and language.

Human Biology

The Human Biology module will aim to introduce students to the fundamental concepts of Physiological Homeostasis. Students learn about the complex physiological systems that maintain human life. Spend time looking at gross structures of organs down to the tissue and cellular level and the pathological conditions associated with the organs. Introduced to common diseases in society such as Alzheimers, Stroke Cystic Fibrosis and Multiple Sclerosis.

Social Sciences in Action

Social sciences in action introduces students to psychology and sociology. The emphasis is on two key areas in psychology- social psychology and individual differences. In sociology the focus is on two important concepts – culture and identity. Both social sciences are investigated through examining classic research in these areas. Research methods used in both fields are used to carry out a practical investigation into a theme covered in the specification.
Students will be provided with an opportunity to gain an understanding of the world around them and the minds and behaviour of the people in it. They can acquire a broad set of desirable skills including the ability to describe and critically evaluate a range of research, to plan and carry out their own investigation and to interpret and critically assess their findings.

Academic English Skills

This module will give students the opportunity to develop awareness and competency in the range of academic language-related skills required for successful study at Higher Education level. These include the processes and conventions of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. Students will be provided with an opportunity to develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language with clarity and confidence, as well as to reflect on their learning and identify how to improve their skills and language.

Personal Learning and Critical Thinking Skills (PLTS)

The aim of the module is to emphasise the importance of acquiring and improving six transferable skills that enable students to cope with change and to learn effectively; skills that will help them to be effective in many different work and life situations. Furthermore, these are skills that employers and those in further education want to see developed. Employers worldwide are demanding more than just a degree – they want employees with additional winning skills.

Social and Behavioural Science pathway

Core Maths

In this module students will focus on basic topics and methods in Numerical Techniques, Algebra, Calculus, Statistics and Probability with a view to strengthening their background knowledge and improving their skills in handling and presenting data.
Most of the students taking this module will have decided to study a Business or Arts related degree and the skills they will develop during the course will equip them with the skills needed to enable them to gather and analyse data, interpret and present findings.

Media Campaigns

As part of this module, students will research, plan, source material, edit and present a promotional video on a chosen theme. Students will generate ideas, find inspiration and familiarise themselves with their theme by looking at existing videos, photographs, art projects, and news articles. Mind maps, storyboards and video software will be used to complete the final project.

Academic English Skills

This module will give students the opportunity to develop awareness and competency in the range of academic language-related skills required for successful study at Higher Education level. These include the processes and conventions of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. Students will be provided with an opportunity to develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language with clarity and confidence, as well as to reflect on their learning and identify how to improve their skills and language.

Introduction to Humanities

This module will give students the opportunity to explore people and culture from different perspectives. It covers the basic from what are the humanities to more specialised issues such as people and histories, identity, Britishness, arts, culture and language.

Social Sciences in Action

Social sciences in action introduces students to psychology and sociology. The emphasis is on two key areas in psychology- social psychology and individual differences. In sociology the focus is on two important concepts – culture and identity. Both social sciences are investigated through examining classic research in these areas. Research methods used in both fields are used to carry out a practical investigation into a theme covered in the specification.
Students will be provided with an opportunity to gain an understanding of the world around them and the minds and behaviour of the people in it. They can acquire a broad set of desirable skills including the ability to describe and critically evaluate a range of research, to plan and carry out their own investigation and to interpret and critically assess their findings.

Academic English Skills

This module will give students the opportunity to develop awareness and competency in the range of academic language-related skills required for successful study at Higher Education level. These include the processes and conventions of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. Students will be provided with an opportunity to develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language with clarity and confidence, as well as to reflect on their learning and identify how to improve their skills and language.

Personal Learning and Critical Thinking Skills (PLTS)

The aim of the module is to emphasise the importance of acquiring and improving six transferable skills that enable students to cope with change and to learn effectively; skills that will help them to be effective in many different work and life situations. Furthermore, these are skills that employers and those in further education want to see developed. Employers worldwide are demanding more than just a degree – they want employees with additional winning skills.

Legal and Financial Environment

The Legal and Financial Environment module provides students with an introduction to two key aspects of the UK business environment. Students will gain an understanding of the legal environment in the UK, and will consider how business activities are constrained by relevant government legislation. Students will also have the opportunity to demonstrate their analytical skills, interpreting summary financial information and making judgements about business performance, providing a firm foundation for further study of business at undergraduate level.

Investigating Business

The Investigating Business module gives students a chance to develop their research and analysis skills, along with presentation skills that will be useful to them as undergraduates. In this module students will research and report on two different businesses, understanding the theory underpinning business operations, and comparing the way in which two UK companies have put these into practice. Students’ assessed work will provide an opportunity to demonstrate a real interest in the structure and operations of businesses, and will require them to demonstrate practical research and assessment skills, using resources available through the University of Huddersfield.

Introduction to Issues in Contemporary Education

This module introduces the student to the study of education and will consider the historical and political dimensions which have shaped the modern educational system. Understanding will be assessed through a poster and a presentation examining the education systems in England and one other country.

Science pathway

Pure Maths

In this module students will study topics that will be important for progressing onto an engineering degree course. They will spend a little time making sure their algebra and trigonometry skills are sound before moving on to calculus topics. They will conclude with statistics and probability.

Biology

The Biology module supports students with the fundamental biological concepts. Each lesson builds upon key concepts, vocabulary and provides students with the opportunity to practice exam style questions. To support students with their practical skills there are a number of practical lessons in a laboratory setting. Topics that students will study include; prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells, the immune system, DNA, biological molecules, and respiration.

Academic English Skills

This module will give students the opportunity to develop awareness and competency in the range of academic language-related skills required for successful study at Higher Education level. These include the processes and conventions of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. Students will be provided with an opportunity to develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language with clarity and confidence, as well as to reflect on their learning and identify how to improve their skills and language.

Physics

This module will encourage students to develop the interest in and enthusiasm for Physics and support further study of the subject. Students will appreciate how society makes decisions about scientific issues and how the sciences contribute to the success of the economy and society. They will also develop and demonstrate a deeper appreciation of the skills, knowledge and understanding of Physics and develop essential knowledge and understanding of different areas of the subject and how they relate to each other. As students taking this module have decided to study an Engineering, Science or Computer Science degree the subject will be taught in a contextualised way with applied examples given during the module to help and prepare them for the specific demands of their chosen degree.

Chemistry

The Chemistry module is designed to help students to strengthen their knowledge and skills of the foundational concepts in Chemistry, on which to build on when they progress into their dream university degrees. In this module, students will become acquainted with specialised vocabulary, chemical principles, organisation and communication of relevant information, ethical, safe, and skilful practical techniques, and the importance of selecting appropriate qualitative and quantitative methods.
On completion of the modules, students should become skilful in recording and communication of reliable and valid observations with appropriate precision and accuracy, plan and conduct investigative work in a Chemistry context, as well as interpret and analyze data.

Academic English Skills

This module will give students the opportunity to develop awareness and competency in the range of academic language-related skills required for successful study at Higher Education level. These include the processes and conventions of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. Students will be provided with an opportunity to develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language with clarity and confidence, as well as to reflect on their learning and identify how to improve their skills and language.

Personal Learning and Critical Thinking Skills (PLTS)

The aim of the module is to emphasise the importance of acquiring and improving six transferable skills that enable students to cope with change and to learn effectively; skills that will help them to be effective in many different work and life situations. Furthermore, these are skills that employers and those in further education want to see developed. Employers worldwide are demanding more than just a degree – they want employees with additional winning skills.

Academic: Good high school graduation grades or equivalent^
English language: Academic IELTS for UKVI 4.5 (minimum of 4.0 in writing), or equivalent*
Age on entry: 17+ (in the September or October of the academic year you wish to start at the International Study Centre). Must turn 18 before the start of your undergraduate degree

Visit our entry requirements page for a complete list of country-specific requirements.

*If you do not need a Student visa, or are exempted in another way, we can accept equivalent proof of English.

^To ensure that students are adequately prepared for the IFY Health Science route and IFY Engineering Science routes, applicants should have studied a science subject previously. Ideally, this would be Biology, but if they have studied Physics and/or Chemistry, this will suffice.

Course length: 2 semesters 
Entry points: September and January. 

Term dates:

September 2021
Semester 1: 20/09/2021 - 28/01/2022
Semester 2: 07/02/2022 - 03/06/2022

January 2022
Semester 1: 10/01/2022 - 06/05/2022
Semester 2: 09/05/2022 - 05/08/2022

IELTS March June Aug Sept Dec Jan Feb May June Aug Sept
4.0 (4.0 in all skills)   12-week ELP IFY semester 1 IFY semester 2 Holiday Start your undergraduate degree
3.5 (3.5 in all skills)   24-week ELP IFY semester 1 IFY semester 2
4.0 (4.0 in all skills)   12-week ELP

To learn more about course costs visit our fees page.

Progress to Huddersfield

This programme can lead to one of the undergraduate degrees listed below (subject to meeting the grades outlined). These degrees are subject to change.

Degree Programmes Award Overall Grade English Grade Additional Grade
Applied English Language Studies BA (Hons) 40% 60% -
Behavioural Sciences BSc (Hons) 40% 50% -
Childhood Studies BA (Hons) 40% 50% -
Criminology BSc (Hons) 40% 50% -
Drama BA (Hons) 40% 50% -
Drama and English Language BA (Hons) 40% 60% -
Drama and English Literature BA (Hons) 40% 60% -
Drama with Creative Writing BA (Hons) 40% 60% -
Early Childhood and Education BA (Hons) 40% 50% -
Education Studies BA (Hons) 40% 50% -
An international student in Huddersfield

“My foundation year made me develop many skills, especially my confidence.  never used to do any presentations or talking to crowds. I had the biggest stage fright but cause we did so many practice presentations in different modules, we had experience.”

Ghufran from Libya
Studied International Foundation Year - Health and Human Sciences
Now studying BSc Physiotherapy 

Find out more about starting your studies or check the latest COVID-19 information.